This morning I did NOT feel like going to work out. I didn't go to bed until midnight and then Aurélia was up at 3:30 and then Ashton was up from 6am-on. My entire body was aching from the last two days of workouts and the sprints I did last night. While I was giving myself the daily morning pep talk to slither out of bed and take on another day with a full-energy 2 year old boy and an increasingly needy 7-month old girl, for a brief moment I wished I could just go to work. To be an adult, to be without kids, to do something ELSE. Of course that was a fleeting thought since today that just wasn't going to be the case, but then it occurred to me that while I was coming up with excuses not to go work out, I realized that working out can BE my job! Sure, I wasn't getting paid and I had to bring my kids with me, so it had none of the perks of a REAL job, but I realized that I could schedule it and MAKE myself go. Every day. Unless, as in a real job, one of the kids or I are deathly ill. So aside from that, I actually set an alarm, get ready, make myself be on time and treat it like I'm going to work. Yes, this is apparently how my brain functions, because it worked! And I feel amazing (still sore as Hell!) but better in every other way! So once again, I am tricking myself into a successful lifestyle and hey, I'm dumb enough to believe it. ;) Now if I can just apply the same psychology to cleaning my house and practicing violin, I'll be set for life!




Leave a Reply.